Skip Navigation LinksDCH > GPs > Pathology Services > Blood Sciences

Blood Sciences

Introduction

The Department of Blood Sciences at Dorset County Hospital Foundation Trust (DCHFT) offers Biochemistry, Haematology, and Coagulation as well as offering advice to DCHFT, local community hospitals, General Practitioners and other Users.

  • Test repertoire
  • Normal hours of service are 9 to 6 Monday to Friday
  • Out of hours service
  • Consultant Advice
  • Results
  • Instructions for patients
  • Supply of specimen containers
  • Health & Safety
  • General information

 

For test repertoire and specific test information including turn-around-times, click here​​

Additional tests time limits click here

 

Normal hours of service are 9am to 6pm Monday to Friday

We offer a 24 hour service. A member of staff is on-site at all times and can be contacted by telephone ext 4331. Specimen reception is open from 07:30 - 21:00 for the receipt of specimens.

Out of hours service

The on-call Biomedical Scientist (BMS) can be contacted via extension 4331 or bleeped via hospital switchboard. Specimens will be processed as soon as possible after receipt, please contact the laboratory to highlight urgent requests.

Consultant Advice

For advice on diagnosis and the interpretation of results, contact the Consultant Chemical Pathologist or Consultant Haematologists (see contact details at bottom of this page)

Outside of normal hours contact duty Consultant via the hospital switchboard.

Results

Reports available electronically through ICE. If results are not available on the computer an update may be available from the laboratory on Ext 4331.

 

 

 

 

Instructions for patients

Please click on link for urine instructions

Please click on link for 24hr urine collection instructions

Please click on link for 24hr urine growth hormone instructions

Please click on link for 24hr 5HIAA instructions

Telephone results

Results of urgent requests will be available on the computer as soon as possible. Urgent results that cannot be input onto the computer for whatever reason will be telephoned if they will aid immediate patient management.

Staff and telephone numbers

General laboratory telephone: 01305 254331



Name and email addressTelephone number/
extension
Consultant Chemical Pathologist

Dr Rasaq Olufadi

rasaq.olufadi@dchft.nhs.uk 

Ext 4333
Consultant Haematologist

​Dr Dietmar Hofer

dietmar.hofer@dchft.nhs.uk

​Ext 3309
​​Consultant Haematologist

​Dr Anna Morris

anna.morris@dchft.nhs.uk

Ext 4327
Consultant Haematologist

 Dr Richard Karim

richard.karim@dchft.nhs..uk

 

Blp 519
Head BMSMoira Matthews
moira.matthews@dchft.nhs.uk

Ext 4334
Senior Biomedical Scientists

Vicky Brown,  Wendy Brown, Rachel Flack, Steve Pledger

vicky.brown@dchft.nhs.uk

steve.pledger@dchft.nhs.uk

wendy.brown@dchft.nhs.uk

rachel.flack@dchft.nhs.uk

Ext 4330
Haematology Advice

Haematology.advice@dchft.nhs.uk

  

Supply of specimen containers

Most sample containers are obtained via the stores supply system.

All other supplies are obtained via the normal hospital supplies system.

Request forms

A hand-written, printed or ICE request form must accompany all specimens sent to the laboratory. It should clearly state the following information: Comprehensive Clinical

Information is essential - Please Click here for further information on specimen and request form acceptance criteria