Skip Navigation LinksDCH > Staff > GEM Awards

GEM and Long Service Awards 2018

Dorset County Hospital staff and volunteers received well deserved recognition for their hard work and dedication at the 2018 GEM and Long Service Awards.

The awards are presented annually to people who have made an outstanding contribution to the hospital – Going the Extra Mile – and to those who have achieved 25 years of NHS service.​

Colleagues, patients and relatives were asked to nominate hospital staff and volunteers for a number of awards to honour those who have gone over and above what is expected to make a difference to people's lives.

The winners received their awards from Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Chairman Mark Addison, Chief Executive Patricia Miller and executive directors at a presentation ceremony held at Weymouth and Portland Sailing Academy. Guests also enjoyed performances from members of the DCH Players.

You can find all the photos from the night here.​ 

The winners and runners-up are listed below:

Patient Safety Award

Winner: Sarah Sedgbeer, Emergency Department Junior Sister

Runners-up: Nicola Green, Orthotist; Resuscitation Team

Innovation Award

Winner: Dr James Richards and Acute Hospital at Home Team
Runners-up: CPIP Team; Ellenor Covell, Endoscopy Admissions Officer

Volunteer Award

Winners: Rose Stone, Lead Volunteer Guide

Runner-up: Fortuneswell Cancer Trust

Student/Apprentice of the Year

Winner: Paula Russ, Senior Radiology Assistant

Runners-up: Kayleigh Warren, Student Nurse; Megan Lane, Cardiology Modern Apprentice

Team of the Year

Winner: Discharge Team

Runners-up: Clinical Site Managers; Critical Care Outreach Team

Leadership Award

Winner: Wendy Woodland, Lead Discharge Facilitator

Runners-up: Vicky Melville, Divisional Head of Nursing and Quality; Yannis Kotsiopoulos, Head of Business Intelligence

Charity Fundraiser of the Year

Winner: Abigail Orchard, Lead Cancer Nurse

Runners-up: Medical and Surgical Outpatients Team; Sophie Claxton, Day Surgery Staff Nurse

Chairman's Award

Winner: Ann Woodruff, Emergency Department Senior Healthcare Assistant
Runners-up: Becky Vass, Workforce Administrator; Dr David Markham, Emergency Department Consultant

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Mr Hugh Bellis, Orthodontics Consultant

Runners-up: Jessica Dowell, Critical Care Junior Sister; Paul Andrews, Deputy Facilities Manager​

Long Service Awards Recipients

Alison Alexander

Sally Barnes

Kathleen Beaven

Tracey Blandamer

Keith Butterfield

Allison Crabbe

Christine Chutter

Gina Gale

Penny Gale

Susan Guy

Patricia Hastie

Tessa Hellin

Carol Hoar

Emma Hoyle

Janet Johns

Elaine Kellaway

Louise King

Julie Lane

Dwynwen Miller

Elaine Naylor

Stephen Peaty

Andrea Podmore

Bridget Phillips

Allison Tate

Jacqueline Tiller

Sharon Titterington

Nicola Shapland

Karen Valpied

Allan Vincent

Kevin Ward

Simon Winterton​