Enquiries: 01305 251150

Updated 12 April 2021

The Blood Sciences Department offers Biochemistry, Haematology, and Coagulation as well as offering advice to DCH, local community hospitals, general practitioners and other users.

For test repertoire and specific test information including turn around times, please click here.

Additional tests time limits are available here.

We offer a 24 hour service. A member of staff will be on-site at all times and can be contacted  on 01305 254331.

The specimen reception is open from 7.30am – 9pm for the receipt of specimens.

The on-call biomedical scientist can be contacted on 01305 254331 or bleeped via hospital switchboard. Specimens will be processed as soon as possible after receipt. Please contact the laboratory to highlight urgent requests.

Consultant advice

For advice on diagnosis and the interpretation of results, contact the Consultant Chemical Pathologist or Consultant Haematologists (see contact details at bottom of this page).

Outside of normal hours contact Duty Consultant via the hospital switchboard.

Results

Reports available electronically through ICE. If results are not available on the computer an update may be available from the laboratory on 01305 254331.

Contact details

General laboratory telephone: 01305 254331

Dr Rasaq Olufadi (Consultant Chemical Pathologist)
01305 254333
rasaq.olufadi@dchft.nhs.uk  

​Dr Dietmar Hofer (​Consultant Haematologist)
01305 253309  
dietmar.hofer@dchft.nhs.uk 

​Dr Anna Morris (​Consultant Haematologist)
01305 254327
anna.morris@dchft.nhs.uk 

Dr Richard Karim (​Consultant Haematologist)
Bleep 519
richard.karim@dchft.nhs.uk

Moira Matthews (Head BMS)
01305 254334
moira.matthews@dchft.nhs.uk

Vicky Brown (Senior Biomedical Scientist)
01305 25 4330 
vicky.brown@dchft.nhs.uk

Wendy Chandler (Senior Biomedical Scientist)
01305 25 4330 
wendy.chandler@dchft.nhs.uk 

Rachel Flack (Senior Biomedical Scientist)
01305 25 4330 
rachel.flack@dchft.nhs.uk

Steve Pledge (Senior Biomedical Scientist)
01305 25 4330 
steve.pledger@dchft.nhs.uk 

General haematology advice
haematology.advice@dchft.nhs.uk 

Supply of specimen containers

Most sample containers are obtained via the stores supply system.

All other supplies are obtained via the normal hospital supplies system.

Request forms

A hand-written, printed or ICE request form must accompany all specimens sent to the laboratory. Please click here for further information on specimen and request form acceptance criteria.