Enquiries: 01305 251150

Updated 12 May 2021

Make a difference to your local hospital - stand for election as a Governor for Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and help shape the future direction of local health services.

The Dorset County Hospital Governor Election 2021 is now open for nominations. There are elections for governors in the following constituencies:

East Dorset
North Dorset
West Dorset
Weymouth and Portland
South Somerset/Rest of England

A full list of vacant seats and constituencies is available in the Notice of Election.

The Council of Governors has a key role to play in representing the views of the Trust’s members and the public – providing a bridge between the hospital and the communities it serves. The governors also have a duty to hold Non-Executive Directors to account for the performance of the Board of Directors. They are also involved in helping to shape the hospital’s strategy; working with the hospital in achieving its mission of providing outstanding care for people in ways which matter to them.

Governors are required to attend four formal Council of Governors’ meeting a year and papers from previous Council of Governor meetings are available here. In addition there are opportunities to attend regular Governor Working Group meetings and to join a range of committees focused on the constitution, membership, strategy and nominations. A full explanation of the roles and responsibilities of Governors is available here.

UK Engage are managing this election on behalf of Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. If you would like to put your name forward to stand for election to the Council of Governors, you will need to complete a nomination form.

The easiest way to do this is to complete the online nomination form on the UK Engage online election portal: https://hub.ukevote.uk/dorsetcounty

If you wish to write your application by hand, you can download and complete a paper nomination form. Once you have filled it in, please post it to UK Engage at the address below. Alternatively you can request a nomination pack by phone or email and UK Engage will send it to you.

Nominations for this election will close at 5pm on Friday 28 May 2021.

For information, documentation and frequently asked questions please visit the UK Engage online election portal: https://hub.ukevote.uk/dorsetcounty

If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact UK Engage:

Phone: UK Engage on 0345 209 3770
Email: dorsetcounty@uk-engage.org
Write to: UK Engage, Image House, 10 Acorn Business Park, Heaton Lane, Stockport SK4 1AS