Enquiries: 01305 251150

Updated 15 November 2021

Dorset County Hospital staff and volunteers receive well-deserved recognition for their hard work and dedication at the GEM and Long Service Awards.

The awards are presented annually to staff and volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to the hospital  Going the Extra Mile  and to those who have achieved 25 years of NHS service. 

Colleagues, patients and relatives are asked to nominate hospital staff and volunteers for a number of awards to honour those who have gone over and above what is expected to make a difference to people’s lives.

The winners receive their awards from Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Chairman Mark Addison, Chief Executive Patricia Miller and executive directors at a presentation ceremony.

2021 GEM and Long Service Awards

Award Winners

Volunteer Award
Winner: Cheryl Fitch, Moira Farley and Teresa Taylor
Runners-up: Catherine Abery Williams and Mark Stockman, and Richard Lawson

Student/Apprentice of the Year Award 
Winner: Claire Bracey
Runners-up: Kate Rowe and Jade Smith

Quality Improvement and Innovation Award
Winner: Patient Action Tracker Development Team
Runners-up: Digital Development Team and Transfers of Care Development Team

Contribution to Research Award 
Winner: Tim Crook
Runners-up: Claire Harding and Lewis Pullen, and The Recovery Team

Leadership Award
Winner: Louise Brereton
Runners-up: Claire Turnbull and Sarah Cake

Patient Safety Award
Winner: Infection Control
Runners-up: Dietetic Acute Team, and Joanna Males and Ruth Newman

DCH Charity Fundraiser of the Year Award
Winner: Cheryl Heard
Runners-up: Jo Nation and the COVID Testing Unit

Team of the Year Award
Winner: Critical Care Unit
Runners-up: Housekeeping and Ridgeway Ward

Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Ruth Gardiner
Runners-up: Jess Dowell and Sandra Hood

Chairman’s Award
Winner: Deborah Cobb
Runners-up: Claire Harding

Long Service Awards Recipients
Stuart Coalwood
Elliot Stuffins
Ian Powell
Victoria Frost
Kim Mitchell
Louise Godber
Alastair Hutchison
Leanne Simmonds
Andrew Cornaby
Robert Torok
Claire Thompson
Dennise Hill
Rosemary Rose
Leeann Tye-Bliss
Emma Haynes
Shane Cowan
Joanna Taylor
Jayne Hanson
Erica Mason
David Toman
Patricia Clark
Jonathan Archer
Sean Santos

Vera Voss
Deborah Cobb
Susan Berry
Alistair Downton
Colleen Fletcher
Sandra Derryman
Heather Moynehan
Deborah McDermott
Lorraine Street
Jacqueline Thomas
Alison Drew
Vilma McCowan
Polly Horwood
Raymond MacAllister
Lucy Walton
Graham Marriott
Andy Walbridge
Latham Yates
Fran Samsom
Antoinette Wallace
Angela Ridge
Sharon Ings
Suzanne Clayton
Nicola Brown